Agribusiness Management   

        Basic Sciences & Humanities 

        Fishery Sciences                    

        Hill Agriculture & Forestry       

        Home Science                         


        Veterinary & Animal Sciences

        P.G. Studies                             




Extension Education                    





Campus Life                                 


How to reach                               

Contact Info                                  


After its establishment in 1960 the University started functioning with two colleges, viz., the College of Agriculture and the College of Veterinary Medicine which was renamed as the College of Veterinary Sciences.

Two years later, a College of Agricultural Engineering was started which was renamed as the College of Technology in 1966 with the addition of 3 new B.Tech programmes in Civil, Mechanical and Electrical engineering.

The need of a college which could impart the knowledge of basic scientific principles to the students, was also being felt strongly since the inception of the University. Hence a School of Basic Sciences and Humanities was established in 1963 which was upgraded as the College of Basic Sciences and Humanities.

In the same year, with the initiation of masterís programmes in different departments, the College of Post-Graduate Studies was started in the University.

A big responsibility of the University was a hilly area which had agroclimatic conditions and problems quite different from the plains. Hence, to take care of the needs of education, research and extension in the hills of UP, a full-fledged hill campus was established in 1976 by the University at Ranichauri in the district of Tehri Garhwal. At this campus only research and extension programmes were carried out till 1991. However, by 1992 a well-equipped College of Forestry and Hill Agriculture was started with a provision of laboratories, hostels and additional staff to carry out teaching programmes. Prior to this the undergraduate programme of B.F.Sc. was carried out at the main campus till 1996.

In 1985, the University established another college i.e. the College of Fishery Science, to develop manpower in aquaculture and fishery in the inland waters of the State.

In the last decade of the twentieth century, agriculture received great impetus and was covered under the umbrella of the GATT Agreement. Commercialization and globalization made agriculture a business-like venture. In order to meet the demand of trained graduates in agriculture and its allied sector with a management background, the university established a College of Agri-Business Management in 1996. The College became functional in 1998 and has been able to meet the expectations of running agribusiness at par with other areas of trade and industry.

Back | Top